What Moves You?

infograph 6

I’m having somewhat of a weird week.

I was supposed to go to New Mexico and hang out with my bros for a week. But I gave in to my wife’s begging and stayed home. (In her defense, and possibly my demise, she’s real pregnant. Not due for over a month, but still.)

So I’m stuck at home doing yard work and various other chores that are lame. I’ve also been doing some rewrites and lots of other personal things over the past few weeks.

But I really wanted to go on this trip.

Let me tell you why:

I Love Mountains

high road 3

Mountains speak to me. I don’t know why, they just give me a sense of awe and wonder. I always feel refreshed after visiting mountains. It’s probably because I live in a desert with no mountains that’s also so close to the ocean that the humidity is awful. Worse than that run on sentence.

But I digress.

Everyone has someplace that they love to be. Many people live where they love to be, others like to visit those places to keep the magic. As a writer, we often talk about muses. I don’t know if we actually have things that spark our creative juices, but I definitely feel more relaxed after a trip to the mountains. I took a trip last year to Colorado Springs to see this guy, and had a blast. This is me at the Garden of the Gods park:

2012-07-31 11.38.01

I spent a week bumming around Colorado with my wife, and it was really fun. When we got home, I wrote quite a few stories because I was refreshed and ready to get back to reality. Not quite a muse, but definitely a relaxing vacation. Kind of like going fishing.

I Like Trips With Nerdy Stuff

Have you ever seen the movie ‘Contact‘ with Jodie Foster? If you haven’t you should. There’s lots of science talk and giant radio telescope dishes. LIKE THESE:

VLA

This is the Very Large Array near Socorro, NM. It is a radio telescope used by NASA and other research groups. If you look closely at the base of the structure, you can see my wife with her arms stretched wide. Those things are big. They’re also full of technical components and have a visitor’s center that explains a lot of their technology and achievements. Lots of fodder for stories. On this particular trip we also visited Roswell, which is ripe with aliens of all kinds. We also visited the Space Museum in Alamogordo. Every one of those places was really fun to visit, and jam packed with material.

Have You Been On A Sci Fi Inspired Trip Yet?

The mountains and valleys of New Mexico are where I like to go to get my sci fi trip on. But there are many more places to visit. Why don’t you find one near you and take a trip? A little inspiration can go a long way.

But anyway, that’s me sulking about not getting to go on my trip…

Leave a Reply

