Capturing An Idea

Initial Capture

What do you do when you get that idea that is OMG THE BEST IDEA EVAR?!?!

I hope you capture it in some medium.

I like my phone’s note pad. It let’s me jot down some quick notes so I can come back and flesh it out later. Because, like most people, I’m busy. There’s always something to do.

Sometimes I get ideas for stories while I’m writing other stories.

Oh, and this is the WORST:

So how do you keep track?

The main thing to remember is that you will have ideas as a writer. It’s inevitable. I decided last week that I was going to take this week off from writing. Guess how many story ideas I’ve had? At least two, because I finished one story and sent it out to my beta readers and I got over 1500 words done on another one today. Oh the life of a writer.

If you don’t have some way to log your story ideas, get one. You don’t have to have a notepad on your phone. I also have a leather bound note/sketch pad that I carry around sometimes as well. Just having something to put ideas down on is a must.

Taming the Monster

So once the idea is captured, how does one go about taming it?

Well we do the aforementioned fleshing out.

A lot of writing guides don’t really tell you how to flesh out an idea. And it’s simply because they can’t. There are too many variables to create an accurate equation for writing. Voice, tone, word count, point of view, characterization, plot; and many many more go into your writing. If you haven’t figured out how you do all of that yet, then you need to write more. And write in more than one voice, using many different voices and tones etc. Your cool idea will never become a cool story if you have not honed the skills needed for your craft.

I run into the same problems with young musicians I work with. They all want to play rippin’ guitar solos and try to go at it as fast as they can. The only problem is that they suck at playing guitar. They haven’t practiced enough to play that well.

If your beta readers and editor aren’t impressed with your skills, go to the woodshed.

Releasing the Beast

When your idea is fully down on paper, or hard drive…whatever, then you need to do the last part. Which is editing. Let me make this clear: no matter how hard you work on your first draft while you’re writing, it NEEDS to be edited. Whether you get a professional editor or edit it yourself is another story, but i assure you it needs to be edited. I edited a story the other day to be submitted to a publisher and it was FULL of mistakes. Not just spelling, any decent word processor will catch most of that stuff, but grammar and sentence structure were terrible in some places. They made very little sense within the context of the story.

Here’s some advice on editing if you’re going to do it yourself. Put the story away for a while. At least a couple of weeks, if not longer. You need to forget the story so you can go in fresh and catch your mistakes. If you haven’t yet, you should read ‘Let’s get Digital’ by David Gaughran. Great book on self publishing and the digital revolution. Pick it up and read it.

The art of capturing an idea and completing it is one that many people haven’t mastered. Take this for example:

Battleship Destroyer

Go ahead and read the ‘Look inside’ portion. I dare you. You won’t make it without laughing. This is an example of what can happen if you don’t follow step 3. Don’t be that guy. And don’t forget that repetition leads to mastery. (Not that I’m a master. By ANY means.)

Keep writing! I know I will.

Leave a Reply

