Doctor Who and the Snowmen

Hello everyone,

did you miss me?

I most certainly missed writing for all of you! But let’s jump right in:

Doctor Who and the Snowmen was on this past Tuesday (because it was the annual Christmas special) and it was brilliant!

Here’s why:

1. Easily accessible by new watchers

What I’ve noticed in the show as a whole since Matt Smith took over as the new doctor is this: it’s more accessible. I watched a lot of Doctor Who when David Tennant played the time lord, and at times it was, to quote Sheldon Cooper, Doctor Why Bother. But since the 2010 revamp, my wife has even become a fan of the Doctor. And she usually finds every excuse not to watch science fiction. The Snowmen episode was like this as well, allowing new watchers to discover the magic of this decades spanning franchise. But wait! There’s more:

SPOILERS IF YOU CONTINUE

2. There was plenty of stuff for people who already watch Doctor Who

Like I said, I’ve been watching the Doctor for quite some time. I’ve been with him through the throws of alien Santas, weird disembodied parasitic creatures, freaky stone angels and tons of other monsters. So when the female lead in Snowmen was someone who played another character I was confused. And then at the end of the episode, of course, my confusion was turned into the next major overarching storyline. There were recurring characters and themes as well, adding to the familiarity of the Who universe. But the blending of accessibility and familiarity was great.

3. They kept me wanting more

I’ll admit that I wanted more of the Doctor long before this special. But this episode kept getting more convoluted by the second, and I loved it. The villain wasn’t even that nasty; but everything surrounding the story line of the episode leading up to the realization of something wrong with the time stream was genius. I can’t wait for this next season of Doctor Who and all of the adventures it will bring.

So what does this have to do with a writing blog?

I’m so glad you asked.

1. Be easily accessible

You want new readers right?

Give them something they can jump into. I write a lot of short stories, and one of my beta readers has told me that they love my voicing. I give them just enough world building so they can jump in, then it’s all about being involved in the story. If your readers spend all of their time in the story, and not trying to figure out what’s going on, they will have accessed the story well.

2. Let them know you wrote the story

My beta readers also tell me that they know when it’s me writing because of the voicing (mentioned above) and my dialogue driven stories. One of my readers likens my work to a comic book with no pictures.

I told him that I should get someone to draw pictures…

But in all seriousness, how do your readers know that it’s you? If you’re writing a series, can people jump from one story to the next and know who the main characters are? That’s one thing I really dig about Doctor Who, every episode is a separate story, but they all have a role in the overarching storyline.

Sidenote: that is also what I love about the Bible.

But what is going on in the universe(s) you have created to keep everyone on the same track?

3. Leave them wanting more

This should go without saying. Especially since we talk a lot about short stories here. We have to leave the reader wanting more stories.

Because what’s the point of writing stories if no one wants to read them?

Leave your readers wanting more. It will motivate you to write more and give you some free word of mouth marketing. Tell all your friends to…tell all their friends.

So your final assignment, if you haven’t already, is to go watch Doctor Who and the snowmen. And then go watch all the rest of Doctor Who.

It will take you forever.

And try putting some of this stuff into your writing!

Leave a Reply

